Connect with us

New York Islanders

Islanders’ Lamoriello wins GM of the Year Award




In his second year with the New York Islanders organization, Lou Lamoriello has won some hardware.

Lamoriello has been named the recipient of the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award, the NHL announced Saturday night. It’s the first time an Islanders GM has won this honor.

Subscribe here for daily coverage of the New York Islanders

A three-time Stanley Cup champion with the New Jersey Devils, Lamoriello joined the Islanders in May 2018 as team president before taking over the general manager role the next month after he dismissed then-GM Garth Snow. A little over two weeks later, Lamoriello inked Barry Trotz as New York’s new head coach to replace Doug Weight.

After the Islanders won 48 games and finished second in the Metropolitan Division in 2018-19, Lamoriello signed free agents Semyon Varlamov and Derrick Brassard before the beginning of this regular season.

He also helped keep captain Anders Lee in New York with a new deal along with Brock Nelson and Jordan Eberle.

The team early this season set a new franchise record with a 17-game point streak, and before the trade deadline, he made deals for veteran defenseman Andy Greene and center Jean-Gabriel Pageau.

The Islanders ended with 35 wins in a shortened regular season but have since won three playoff series, reaching the Eastern Conference Final for the first time since 1993.

Since Lamoriello joined the organization, the Islanders have won 83 games and four playoff series.


Enter your email address to get all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

NYI Team & Cap Info