Connect with us

New York Islanders

Casey Cizikas Named 2020-21 Islanders’ Masterton Trophy Nominee



Casey Cizikas skates with the puck during the third period of the National Hockey League game between the Washington Capitals and the New York Islanders.

Casey Cizikas was named as the New York Islanders 2020-21 nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The award is handed out each year to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to the game of hockey. The winner and nominees are voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Only three Islanders have won the award in franchise history. Ed Westfall was the recipient of the Masterton Trophy in 1977, Mark Fitzpatrick won it in 1992 and most recently Robin Lehner was given the honor in 2019.

Westfall was given the award for his leadership ability, while Fitzpatrick overcame Eosinophilia–myalgia syndrome, which is a  potentially life-threatening disease, and returned to professional hockey. Lehner was able to overcome a very public battle with alcoholism and bipolar disorder in his first and only season with the Islanders.

This year is the first time in Casey Cizikas’ career that he has been nominated for the award. The trophy will be handed out at the NHL Awards ceremony after the completion of the 2020-21 season.

Cizikas has seven goals and seven assists in 55 games with the Islanders this season. He is in the final year of a five-year deal he signed in 2016.